Archive | Books RSS feed for this section
Caryn Broke 6

Gettin’ Good and Broke

The reviews are rolling in for Broke: What Financial Desperation Revealed about God’s Abundance . Publisher’s Weekly says, “In the vein of Ann Voskamp and Sarah Young, Rivadeneira (Known and Loved: 52 Devotions from the Psalms) offers a devotional perspective on financial desperation in the suburbs. Balancing between mystical mirth and spiritualized snark, she reflects on […]

Continue Reading
71aclkwcuNL._SL1500_

Known and Loved Released!

      Thrilled to celebrate the release of my 3rd book, Known and Loved: 52 Devotions from the Psalms in partnership with MOPS International! Here’s what people are saying about the book: “Profound, funny, and affirming. On days that can feel like they are never going to end, or at moments when we doubt […]

Continue Reading
4 Books

My Books

Even after years of doing it, it’s still a a thrill to open a box of my newly published books and see my name on the cover. Childhood dreams die hard and all that, I suppose. I do not take for granted the blessing it’s been to have the opportunity to write books for some […]

Continue Reading
grumble-652x290_slider

Hard to Complain

Most of the reviews for Grumble Hallelujah have been quite good (read them here). I’ve loved the emails and messages readers have sent, and the kind words friends have shared. So nice to know that something I worked so hard on and poured so much heart, mind and soul into is being well-received. But of […]

Continue Reading
Sunshine Dog panting on the kitchen floor.

Googling Nudists & Other Vulnerabilities

As I’ve been interviewed about Grumble Hallelujah, I almost always asked two questions: 1. Where did the title from? And 2. How was it to write the very vulnerable opening story about crying on the kitchen floor? The first question is easy enough to answer. I even write about it in my acknowledgments (I was […]

Continue Reading
BoxofGrumbles

On Top of My Game…?

Last week, I was taken aback last week when an old friend messaged me to say he’d been both touched and surprised by a radio interview of mine in which I talked openly about dealing with the disappointments and heartaches of my recent life. “You always seem so on top of you game,” he wrote. […]

Continue Reading
horshoeisland

Moving Forward

Last week while hiking around Horseshoe Island, just off the “coast” of Peninsula State Park in beautiful Fish Creek, Wisconsin, I realized something:while I can be as (sort of) adventuresome as the next person, I really hate notknowing where I’m going. See, not long after we had beached our kayaks on thedeserted island and set […]

Continue Reading
Tweet Hallelujah

Tweet Hallelujah

Hard to believe that Grumble Hallelujah “hits shelves” in less than 2 months. But, alas, it’s true. And exciting. However, this means that even as I do my darnedest to rest and relax this summer, marketing this sucker is on my mind. After all, this is a really fun book. And I want people read […]

Continue Reading
MothersDayGiveaway

We’ve Got Winners!

After several days of delays due simply to the crazies of life, we finally picked winners for my Mother’s Day Giveaway Content! Congratulations to Jana and Katie! My 9-year-old son did the random choosing so I had nothing to do with who the actual winners were…..so if you’re upset you didn’t win, take it up […]

Continue Reading
MothersDayGiveaway

Mother’s Day Giveaway!

So…in honor of Mother’s Day AND the debut of my brand-new, redesigned site (thanks to Marc Miller @ Big Ocean Studios!), a few of my Redbud Writers Guild friends and I have come up with a great giveaway! A four-book package with a retail value of like 50 bucks or something. (Maybe, I haven’t even […]

Continue Reading